A Love Affair with MMOs

 

Untitled-1

I’ve been MMOing since 2004. While I would really like day that my first experience with online games was with Runescape or World of Warcraft, it just isn’t so. See while all my friends were playing Runescape, I was playing Club Penguin. If you’re not sure what that is, it was basically a heavily moderated chat room with some mini games and a penguin avatars to dress up. For the life of me I can’t remember why I was so entranced by it, maybe because it was the first time I was playing a game that had any kind of chat feature at all. It took about a year for my friends to convince me to try this Runescape thing.

I like to think of Runescape as the gateway MMO. It wasn’t flashy, it ran in a browser, and it was pretty easy to learn  to play. It was one of the first open world games I played and even as a free account, where 50% of the content was locked off, the map felt huge. I never could convince my parents to pay for a membership. It was in Runescape that I fell in love with watching numbers go up and there were so many skills to level! I played with friends almost every day for a year and a half before we all lost interest and moved on.

My parents never understood video games, nor could they see why they should spend $15 a month for me to play them. I missed out on playing World of Warcraft and other pay to play games. Guild Wars on the other hand was something I could buy from the store myself. I played Guild Wars and all of its expansions religiously for 4 years. . I had a menagerie of alts, I ran a guild, and I must have completed each campaign at least five times. Though I couldn’t tell you what the story was about now if you asked. I haven’t been able to sink my teeth into a game like that since.

Once I graduated high school, I didn’t have a lot of time for MMOs anymore.  I experimented with League of Legends in college but ultimately gave up  when no one else wanted to play. I patiently waited for Guild Wars 2 to launch but when it can out my laptop couldn’t run it. I was devastated. By the time I got a semi capable PC, no one I knew was playing it anymore.

Since graduating from college I have rekindled the old flame once again. While I haven’t found an MMO to stick with yet, I’ve fooled around with a lot. I bought The Secret World, I played FFXIV for 3 months, and I finally got a character to level 80 in Guild Wars 2. When I discovered what use to be Massively (now Massively OP), I realized I didn’t just enjoy the playing the genre but I enjoyed learning  about the industry as well. Unfortunately my computer still isn’t ideal for gaming, making it impossible to play the newer, prettier titles out there. But I have enjoyed trying games out that it can run.

For the past few months some friends and I have been playing Trove. Most of them aren’t really into MMOs but like building and the super easy game play. For me it’s  a little too simple, but it’s enjoyable in a group. Unfortunately, after the last few updates, my interest in Trove is dwindling.  Once again I’m setting out to find my next MMO to settle down with. Maybe I’ll give Guild Wars 2 another try.

I’ve been wanting to start a blog for a while now, but never had the motivation to just sit down and write.I just learned about the Newbie Blogger Initiative a few days ago. I’m really excited to participate in the events and talk with other bloggers. I’m aiming to post at least twice a week, maybe more if time allows. It’s been a blast so far.

 

5 thoughts on “A Love Affair with MMOs

  1. Aywren June 3, 2016 / 4:18 pm

    Welcome to the blogosphere! Happy to meet you and read your posts!

    I do wish I’d tried Runescape back in the day myself. I always hear lots of great stories about it. I was busy with other MMOs at that time, though. Sounds like you have a lot of experience to blog about! 🙂

    Like

  2. tyrannodorkus June 3, 2016 / 10:28 pm

    Welcome, Kluwes. You joined a great group of people. And talked about my favorite genre, MMOs.

    I know that aimless feeling when finding the game. I get those everyone so often, and sometimes I find “the game” in unlikely places. Recently it turned out to be Ark. But my mind isn’t satisfied with just one game and other’s have been cropping up begging for attention now.

    Guild Wars 2 is the easiest game to get into, in my opinion. It also looks good, and the mechanics work pretty good. Best of luck finding “the game” even if it’s just for a little while.

    Also, seeing your about, when you have a blog, you’re no longer a wanna be 😀

    Like

  3. Ben Griggs June 8, 2016 / 12:48 am

    The great thing about GW2 is that you don’t need to group much to play it. I played most of the original game solo and only got stuck towards the end of the personal story.

    Like

Leave a comment